Day One Part Two

Next block, right after. Another drama one and there were some personalities. I got though.

Next, my block off. PHEW! I called the teacher of the life skills students and set up a time to meet. I want to do this right. I have never taught a learning disabled student before.

Then my IB theatre class came in. A two year, rigorous honors course. Two levels of the course in the same block. Its fine I can do two completely different things at once and meet the demands of tis prescribed course just fine…and they are sometimes my worst behaved. Whether they are grumpy, disruptive, talking to each other and not listening, feeling entitled to break every rule because they are above them or so excited and all wanting to participate at once…It’s like trying to herd cats in a room fully of shiny objects when someone has just dropped a text book.   So I shared excited whispers with them as they entered. Hi welcome back I’m happy to see you complete this quietly shhhhh. It worked, really worked, for ten minuets.

Then the end of the day. I debriefed with my department, wrote my new agenda on the board read some emails, entered attendance, the online attendance and the air conditioning were both down this morning. I really needed to speak with my secretary but she was gone by the time I got to the office. I talked with another set of colleagues about the superintendent and others being in the building today to observe our first day and how no one ever visits my classroom, ever.

Then I wandered home. That was one day.

And I didn’t mention having to fight with an IB kid to comply with anything and I’m really afraid he is suicidal. Or the million kids who asked me where a class was and I had to tell a million of them they were in the wrong building. Or how I sent my lunch block to class a half hour early all the kids from last year I talked with all the wallflowers that hung back after class was over to share with me all their quirkiness because they sense right away they are my people or the crazy sad political situation with the teacher who broke my cup how I ate no lunch or breakfast how I wrangled kids out of the hallway..I’m probably forgetting other crazy things that happened.

I kept my ear to the ground all day. Did anyone know the “stabbing victim?” Did they see it happen? Was he a student here? Did I know him? Did I know the killer? Will they ever arrest anyone? Nothing came out of the woodwork, this time.

I don’t think I’ll sleep tonight. I can’t wait to do it all again tomorrow.

Oh PS, I overheard a student say my class was going to keep her coming to school.

Drop the mic.

Leave a Reply

