#180days

I have decided to write about my experiences at school 180 times between our first day on the last day of August and our last day in June.  180, huh?  Where did I come up with that number?  When I first thought to do this during PD week and a half, yes, our week of meetings before school even starts, I immediately dismissed it.  Too much, tooooooo much to do.  It kept coming back to me and I kept writing.  I realized it is because I am fully committed this school year and reflection just has to be a part of that process.  It took me until now, actually September 13th, to actually post anything.  So yeah, huh!  I’m already behind and I predated things, which I feel is cheating, but for the sake of chronological sense making, I will go on.

I read my passage about the first day of school over and I realize that after two weeks so much has already changed.  My block one is amazing, Ihave had it out a couple time with my drama two because they are already letting me down and acting like entitled snots that upper classmen can often be, I’m having a blast in my life skills class although I’m still feeling my way through and I’m still having a blast.

This was not so last year.  Upon reflection this summer, I really came to realize this.  I felt as if I had one foot out the door even though I had no where to go, no other school I’d rather teach at or profession I wanted to go to.  I was simply depressed and full of anxiety that got the better of me and I did the bare minimum.  I look back and the year was lack luster at best.

This year I have painted myself into multiple corners but setting plans in motion that I can’t reverse.  It’s great.  This year is going to be great.

Leave a Reply

